Tuula Teeri
President and CEO, Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences
SWEDEN
Session : Rethinking The University
Title: Universities and Innovation Driven Economic Growth – case Aalto University.
Presenter: Professor Tuula Teeri

Economic success and social wellbeing today are increasingly dependent on innovation-driven growth. Universities are the engines of innovation at the heart of our wellbeing. Despite their tremendous heritage, universities must change their traditional ways of doing things if they want to fulfil the role as the engines of innovation also in the 21st Century. Expansion of the higher education sector and the increasing global competition put higher demands for universities to build excellence, unique profiles and societal relevance. Universities must be able to educate innovators and game changers who master new knowledge but are also capable of generating and leading disruptive change.

Aalto University was founded in 2010 to bring science and art together with technology and business. The mission of the new university is to identify and solve complex challenges and to educate future game changers - visionaries and innovators. Aalto University builds excellence in its key research focus areas, relying on the Nordic tradition of working very closely with industrial partners. Aalto University seeks to take this collaboration to a new level, to reach co-creation where the boundaries between the university and its external partners fade away.

The international recognition of Aalto University is now rising quickly; the unique profile at the intersection of art, science, business and technology, as well as student driven entrepreneurship has become an international benchmark of university reform. Aalto University has reached a new level of academic excellence and become a pioneer of the new kind of societally embedded research university capable of breaking barriers between traditional disciplines. It is also successfully crossing over the borders between the university and the rest of the society thus supporting economic growth and greater societal wellbeing.

Tuula Teeri is the President and CEO of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA) since November 2017. She has held research and leadership positions at the VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland and the KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Sweden where she was appointed Pro Vice Chancellor in 2008. During 2009 – 2017 Tuula Teeri was the first President of Aalto University, leading the merger of three Finnish universities in technology, business and design. The unique profile at the intersection of art, science, business and technology, as well as student driven entrepreneurship has become an international benchmark of university reform.

Tuula Teeri has been Board member of Swedish and Finnish research institutes, foundations and research councils, and Chair of many international evaluations of academic institutions. She is currently member of the Advisory Council of the Joint Research Institute of the European Commission, the Academic Research Council Singapore and a Board Member of Åforsk foundation, Sweden.

Tuula Teeri is a fellow of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences and Technology Academy Finland, and a cofounder of SweTree Technologies, Sweden. She has the title of Commander of the Order of the White Rose of Finland, 2014, and Doctor honoris causa, School of Integrated Sciences and Technologies (aSSIST) in South Korea, 2017, and recipient of the Case Europe Leadership Award, 2016.

تولا تيري
الرئيس والمدير التنفيذي الأكاديمية السويدية الملكية للعلوم الهندسية، السويد


ملخص
يعتمد النجاح الاقتصادي والرفاهية الاجتماعية اليوم بشكل متزايد على النمو القائم على الابتكار. وتعد الجامعات محركاتٍ للابتكار ومحور رفاهيتنا. على الرغم من تراثها الهائل، وينبغي أن تغير الجامعات طرقها التقليدية في أسلوب عملها إن رغبت في الوفاء بدورها كآليات محركة للابتكار في القرن الحادي والعشرين. لقد أدى التوسع في قطاع التعليم العالي والمنافسة العالمية المتزايدة إلى زيادة الطلب على الجامعات سعيا لبناء التميز، وتطوير قدرات متفرِّدة، والتوافق مع الأهداف المجتمعية، إذ يتعيَّن على الجامعات أن تكون قادرة على تثقيف المبتكرين والرُّوَّاد الذين يُتقنون المعرفة الجديدة بَيْد أنهم يستطيعون أيضاً توليد التغيير الخلَّاق وقيادته.

تأسست جامعة آلتو في عام 2010 لدمج العلم والفن مع التكنولوجيا والأعمال. تتمثل مهمة الجامعة الجديدة في تحديد وحل التحديات المعقدة وتثقيف رواد التغيير في المستقبل من أصحاب العقول النيِّرة والمبتكرين. وتغرس جامعة آلتو التميز في مجالات الأبحاث الأساسية التي تركز عليها، مُعتَمِدةً على تقاليد الشمال الأوروبي، إذ تعمل عن كثب في ذلك مع الشركاء الصناعيين. وتسعى جامعة آلتو إلى الارتقاء بهذا التعاون إلى مستوىً جديد للوصول إلى قاعدةٍ مشتركة للإنطلاق إلى فضاءٍ تذوب فيه الحدود بين الجامعة وشركائها الخارجيين.

يتزايد الاعتراف الدولي بجامعة آلتو بوتيرةٍ سريعة؛ إذ أصبحت السمة المميزة لها مرتبطةً بتقاطع الفن والعلوم والأعمال والتكنولوجيا، فضلاً عن ريادة الأعمال التي يقودها الطلاب مما عزَّز من مكانتها باعتبارها معلماً عالمياً للإصلاح الجامعي. لقد بلغت جامعة آلتو إلى مرحلة جديدة من التميز الأكاديمي وأصبحت رائدةً في هذا النوع الجديد من جامعة الأبحاث المنغمسة في الهموم والقضايا المُجتمعية، والقادرة على كسر الحواجز بين التخصصات التقليدية. كما أنها تخترق بنجاح الحواجز بين الجامعة وبقية العناصر المجتمعية مما يدعم النمو الاقتصادي وتحسين رفاهية اجتماعية بشكل أفضل.

سيرة ذاتية
تشغل تولا تيري منصب الرئيس والمدير التنفيذي للأكاديمية الملكية السويدية للعلوم الهندسية منذ نوفمبر 2017. وتقلدت مناصب بحثية وقيادية في مركز الأبحاث الفنية في فنلندا، والمعهد السويدي الملكي للتكنولوجيا حيث شغلت منصب النائب الأول لرئيس الجامعة في 2008. وفي الفترة من 2009 – 2017 عُيِّنت أستاذة تولا تيري أول رئيسة لجامعة آلتو حيث أشرفت على إدماج ثلاث جامعات فنلندية في التكنولوجيا والأعمال والتصميم. وتحظي بخبرة في مجالات الآداب والعلوم والأعمال والتكنولوجيا علاوة على تعلمها للريادة في الأعمال، مما جعل منها معلما عالميا في مجال إصلاحات الجامعات.

ظلت تولا تيري تعمل عضوا في مجالس مؤسسات أبحاث ، ومؤسسات ومجالس بحثية سويدية وفنلندية، وترأست كثير من فِرَق التقويم الدولية للمؤسسات الأكاديمية. وهي تشغل حاليا عضوية المجلس الاستشاري بالمعهد المشترك للأبحاث التابع للمفوضية الأوروبية، وعضوية المجلس الأكاديمي للأبحاث في سنغافورة، وعوضية مؤسسة آفورسك (Åforsk) بالسويد.

تشغل تولا تيري منصب زميلة المعهد الملكي لأكاديمية العلوم السويدية، والأكاديمية السويدية الملكية للدراسات الهندسية، وأكاديمية التكنولوجيا في فنلندا، وهي المؤسسة بالاشتراك لمؤسسة (SweTree Technologies) للتقنية في السويد. ومُنِحت جائزة الوردة البيضاء (Order of the White Rose) من الدرجة الأولى في فنلندا في 2014. وتقلدت الدكتوراة الفخرية من كلية العلوم المتكاملة والتكنولوجيا (aSSIST) في كوريا الجنوبية في 2017 وتلقت الجائزة الأوروبية في القيادة.