Abdullah Al-Rubaish
President
Imam Abdulrahman Bin Faisal University
KSA
Abstract
 

Re-thinking of Saudi universities have to be aligned with the National Transformation Program (NTP) 2020 and the Saudi Vision 2030. Globalization and the advancement of Information and Communication Technology (ICT) are the most crucial drivers for change in higher education. Transformation will take place in every aspect of our universities, starting from admission criteria, setting learning outcomes/competencies that have to be aligned with future skills of graduates, curriculum design, teaching and learning, assessment, research, governance and administration. We need to address the 21st century skills, such as: critical thinking, problem-solving skills, innovation and entrepreneurship. ICT is already changing the landscape of the market. Some jobs may disappear, while others will emerge, particularly those related to Artificial Intelligence (AI). Saudi university should be transformed to the ‘University 4.0’ model meet the needs of future learners.

 

BIO
 

Dr. Abdullah M. Al-Rubaish graduated from King Faisal University, College of Medicine, Dammam, in 1984 and completed his medical internship at KFHU, Al-Khobar. He entered the King Faisal University Fellowship Program in Internal Medicine at KFHU and obtained the KFU Fellowship in 1990. During his fellowship program, Dr Al-Rubaish became a Member of the Royal College of Physician of the United Kingdom. Following this, he obtained the Arab Board in 1991 and subsequently completed his sub-subspecialty in Pulmonary Medicine at the University of Alberta, Canada in 1994. Shortly after in 1995, he was appointed to Assistant Professor of Medicine at the College of Medicine and as a Consultant in the Department of Internal Medicine, at KFHU. Dr. Al-Rubaish was promoted in 2004 to the rank of Associate Professor of Medicine.

Dr. Al-Rubaish has held a number of positions at the College of Medicine and KFHU. In 1998, he was appointed as Chairman of the Department of Internal Medicine and in 2003 he became the Vice Dean for the College of Medicine. He was subsequently appointed to the position of Dean, College of Medicine and Dean, College of Dentistry in 2004 and 2006, respectively, and General Director of KFHU, a position he holds to this day.

Following these appointments, in 2007 he was appointed to the position of Vice President of King Faisal University in Dammam and President in 2010, a pivotal moment in the university’s history when the Dammam campus was established as an independent university following its split from King Faisal University. His presence and leadership made that transition a smooth process and ensured the current success we now enjoy.

Dr. Al-Rubaish’s numerous administrative positions reflect his competence, expertise and the high regard in which he is held. His skills and dedication were recognized early in his career as he advanced from being responsible from running a single department right through to the rank of Vice Dean, Dean, Vice President until ultimately the position of President of a prestigious university, a position he also holds today. On the regional level he is a member of trustees of Arab Gulf University.

Dr. Al-Rubaish’s distinguished career encompasses many significant achievements, a sample of which includes the expansion and renovation of KFHU, making it one of the most specialized hospital in the area due to the expertise of its dedicated staff, and also the construction of a new 600-bed hospital in the campus of Imam Abdulrahman bin Faisal University. These are a testament to his dedication in serving the local community and the communities of the surrounding areas.

And last but not least, since he assumed the positions of Vice President and President, the university has seen a significant expansion in both its infrastructure, manpower, and disciplines.

عبدالله الربيش
مدير جامعة الإمام عبدالرحمن بن فيصل المملكة العربية السعودية


ملخص
ينبغي أن تتوافق إعادة التفكير في الجامعات السعودية مع البرنامج الوطني للتحول (NTP) 2020، والرؤية السعودية 2030، وتعد العولمة والتقدم في تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات (ICT) أهم العوامل الدافعة للتغيير في التعليم العالي. إن التحول سيحدث قطعا في كل جانب من جوانب جامعاتنا، بدءاً من معايير القبول، وتحديد نتائج / وقدرات التعلم التي يجب أن تتسق مع المهارات المستقبلية للخريجين، وتصميم المناهج الدراسية، والتعليم والتعلم، والتقييم، والبحث، والحوكمة والإدارة. نحتاج إلى معالجة مهارات القرن الحادي والعشرين، مثل: التفكير النقدي ومهارات حل المشكلات والابتكار وريادة الأعمال. بدأت تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات تُغير بالفعل المشهد في سوق العمل. قد تختفي بعض الوظائف، بينما ستظهر وظائف أخرى سيَّما تلك المتعلقة بالذكاء الاصطناعي (AI). يجب تحويل الجامعة السعودية إلى نموذج "الجامعة التي تتسق مع الثورة الصناعية الرابعة" لتلبية احتياجات المتعلمين في المستقبل.

سيرة ذاتية
تخرج الدكتور عبدالله الربيش من كلية الطب بجامعة الملك فيصل في الدمام عام 1984، وأكمل تدريبه الطبي في مستشفى الملك فهد الجامعي بالخبر. والتحق ببرنامج زمالة جامعة الملك فيصل في الطب الباطني بمستشفى الملك فهد الجامعي وحصل على زمالة قسم الأمراض الباطنية من جامعة الملك فهد الجامعي عام 1990. وأثناء برنامج الزمالة، أصبح الدكتور الربيش عضواً في كلية الأطباء الملكية في المملكة المتحدة. بعد ذلك ، حصل على زمالة المجلس العربي للاختصاصات الصحية في عام 1991 ثم أكمل تخصصه الفرعي في تخصص الأمراض الصدرية من جامعة ألبرتا بكندا في عام 1994. وبعد فترة وجيزة تم تعيينه في عام 1995 أستاذاً مساعداً في كلية الطب وطبيباً استشارياً في قسم الطب الباطني بمستشفى الملك فهد الجامعي وتمت ترقية الدكتور الربيش في عام 2004 إلى درجة أستاذ مشارك في الطب.
شغل الدكتور الربيش عدداً من المناصب في كلية الطب ومستشفى جامعة الملك فهد. في عام 1998 ، تم تعيينه رئيساً لقسم الطب الباطني، وفي عام 2003 أصبح نائب عميد كلية الطب. عُيِّن لاحقاً في منصب عميد كلية الطب وعميد كلية طب الأسنان في عامي 2004 و 2006 على التوالي، ومديراً عاماً لمستشفى الملك فهد الجامعي، وهو منصب يشغله حتى يومنا هذا.
بعد هذه المواقع التي شغلها، تم تعيينه في عام 2007 في منصب نائب رئيس جامعة الملك فيصل في الدمام ورئيساً لها في عام 2010، وهي لحظة محورية في تاريخ الجامعة عندما تم إنشاء الحرم الجامعي بالدمام ليُصبح جامعة مستقلة بعد انفصالها عن جامعة الملك فيصل. وقد جعل وجوده وقيادته هذا الانتقال عمليةً سلسةً وكفل النجاح الحالي الذي تتمتع به الجامعة الآن.
تعكس المناصب الإدارية العديدة للدكتور الربيش كفاءته وخبرته والاحترام الكبير الذي يحظى به. فقد جاء الاعتراف مبكراً في حياته المهنية بمهاراته وتفانيه حيث ترقَّى من إدارة قسم أكاديمي ليصبح نائب العميد، والعميد، ونائب رئيس الجامعة، إلى أن تقلد منصب رئيس جامعة مرموقة، وهو المنصب الذي يشغله حتى تاريخه. وعلى المستوى الإقليمي، فهو عضو في مجلس أمناء جامعة الخليج العربي.
يشتمل المسار المهني المتميز للدكتور الربيش كثيراً من الإنجازات الهامة، منها التوسع الذي شهدته مستشفى الملك فهد الجامعي، حيث أصبحت واحدة من أبرز المستشفيات التخصصية في المنطقة بسبب خبرة منسوبيها المتفانين في عملهم، وكذلك تشييد مستشفى جديد تبلغ سعته 600 سريراً في مباني جامعة الإمام عبدالرحمن بن فيصل. وهذه معالم على تفانيه في خدمة المجتمع المحلي ومجتمعات المناطق المحيطة بالجامعة.
وتقلّد أخيرا منصب نائب رئيس الجامعة ورئيسها، إذ شهدت الجامعة في ظل قيادته توسعاً في البنيات الأساسية، والقوى العاملة، والأقسام الأكاديمية.